artists

Janning Trumann

trombonist – NICA Artist since 2020
Janning Trumann by Patrick Essex

Janning Trumann, born in Uelzen in 1990, studied jazz trombone at the Cologne University of Music and at the New York University. With Cologne as his base, the trombone player and composer tours all over Germany with his own ensembles. He is also active as curator for his own concert series in Cologne and is speaker of the Cologne Jazz Conference.

In 2016, Trumann won »J. J. Johnson Award« by the International Trombone Association (ITA) and was awarded the »Förderpreis Musik des Landes Nordrhein Westfalen 2016« (a sponsorship award by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia in the music category).

 

Unlike almost any other musician, Janning Trumann demonstrates that mastering the tools of his trade and an intuitive spark are not sufficient to survive as a freelance jazz and improvisation musician. Born in 1990 in Lower Saxony, the trombone player has long been in demand internationally as an instrumentalist and collaborator in diverse settings of contemporary jazz. He has most certainly proven himself with class, flexible sound, and a good sense of perceptiveness in a wide range of musical contexts, from small, chamber music-like ones to large orchestral settings.

However, unlike any other musician of his generation, the 2016 winner of the J.J. Johnson Award by the ITA International Trombone Association is aware that in the jazz scene artistic talent only leaves an impression if presented with necessary care in an appropriate setting, and if the environment, its scene is conducive to it. By choosing Cologne as his home base for his musical career, trombonist, composer, producer and activist Janning Trumann has set the tone for his musical ambitions accordingly. In the stylistically diverse and high-quality jazz scene of Cologne he has found the motivation and inspiration for his own projects such as the Janning Trumann 4, the Janning Trumann Oktett, TRILLMANN, MAKKRO or the Subway Jazz Orchestra and this is where he contributes to the creative buzz. However, he has moved beyond his strictly musical work. By establishing the label Tangible Music, he has made sure that he can present his music (and that of similarly inspired colleagues whose productions he supports, if desired) to the public independently from the confines of the music industry. In addition, he curates concert series where he plays with guests from the current international scene and as chairman of the Kölner Jazzkonferenz e.V. he is also involved in the development of the musical infrastructure in Cologne.

Read more

artists

Janning Trumann

Posaunist – NICA Artist seit 2020
Janning Trumann by Patrick Essex

Janning Trumann, geboren 1990 in Uelzen, studierte Jazzposaune an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln und der New York University. Der Wahl-Kölner ist als Posaunist und Komponist seiner eigenen Ensembles deutschlandweit zu hören. Darüber hinaus ist er als Kurator eigener Konzertreihen in Köln tätig und Sprecher der Kölner Jazzkonferenz.

2016 gewann Janning Trumann den renommierten »J.J. Johnson Award« der Internationalen Posaunenvereinigung ITA und wurde mit dem »Förderpreis Musik des Landes Nordrhein Westfalen 2016« ausgezeichnet. 

 

Janning Trumann ist ein Musiker, der wie kaum ein anderer vorlebt, dass handwerkliches Rüstzeug und der intuitive Götterfunke nicht ausreichen, um als freischaffender Jazz- und Improvisationsmusiker bestehen zu können. Über beides verfügt er in reichem Maß, und längst ist der 1990 in Niedersachsen geborene Posaunist auch international ein gefragter Instrumentalist und Spielpartner in den verschiedenen Dimensionen des zeitgenössischen Jazz, der sich mit spielerischer Klasse, flexiblem Ton und einer guten Portion Einfühlungsvermögen in vielen musikalischen Zusammenhängen, von den ganz kleinen, eher kammermusikalisch geprägten, bis zu den großen, orchestralen bewährt hat.

Doch wie kaum ein anderer Musiker seiner Generation stellt sich der Preisträger 2016 des J.J. Johnson Award der ITA International Trombone Association der Erkenntnis, dass im Jazz das künstlerische Talent nur dann zur Wirkung kommt, wenn es in einem angemessenen Rahmen mit der nötigen Sorgfalt präsentiert wird und das Umfeld, die Szene, in der es wirkt, dafür geeignet ist. Mit der Wahl von Köln als seiner musikalischen Heimat hat der Posaunist, Komponist, Produzent und Aktivist Janning Trumann seinen Kompass schon einmal passend kalibriert. In der stilistisch breit gefächerten und qualitativ hochklassigen Jazzszene findet er Anregung und Inspiration zu eigenen Projekten wie der Janning Trumann 4, dem Janning Trumann Oktett, TRILLMANN, MAKKRO oder dem Subway Jazz Orchestra und leistet seinen Beitrag zum kreativen Brodeln. Doch über die im engeren Sinne musikalische Arbeit hinaus hat er mit der Gründung des Labels Tangible Music dafür gesorgt, dass er seine Musik (und diejenige von ähnlich inspirierten KollegInnen, die er auf Wunsch bei der Produktion unterstützt) unabhängig von der Musikindustrie in die Öffentlichkeit bringen kann. Daneben kuratiert er Konzertreihen, bei denen er mit Gästen aus der aktuellen internationalen Szene spielt und engagiert sich als Vorsitzender der Kölner Jazzkonferenz e.V. für den Ausbau der musikalischen Infrastruktur in Köln.

Mehr erfahren