artists

Sonae | Sonia Güttler

producer and DJ – NICA Artist since 2020
Sonae by Katja Ruge

Sonae is producer, live performer and DJ for experimental electronic music, part of label collective monika werkstatt. her debut album was released 2015 with berlin based label monika enterprise. afterwards artist in residence at klingklang studio / düsseldorf, women in computer music scholarship at CCRMA of stanford university / cal, USA, master degree in popular music at folkwang university of arts / essen. 2018 release of her second album »I Started Wearing Black« (»a striking album« Fluid Radio UK) followed by »Music For People Who Shave Their Heads« 2019 with london based bit-phalanx music. DJ mixes for the wire, self-titled, vice, dublab. 

Sonae plays live solo and with monika werkstatt at places like institut für zukunft / leipzig, meakusma festival / eupen, ausland / berlin, pop kultur festival / berlin, uh-fest / budapest, cafe oto / london, 23rpm festival / london, the cube / bristol and more on the same bill with squarepusher / warp, kyoka / raster-noton, plaid / warp. Sonae lives and works in cologne.

 

»Learn her name now« - a closer listen

When hearing Sonia Güttler talk about her project Sonae, there’s no denying her German origins. The Cologne-based artist uses the word inventory, for example, to refer to her profound questioning of the factors influencing her mode of music production and the aspects of external perception. While this may seem bureaucratic it represents at its core the highly emotionalized and actively pursued artistic ambition not to repeat herself - as stagnation tends to be the enemy of all musicians.

But rest assured: it’s enough to listen to how much has happened for Sonia Güttlers project Sonae between her 2015 debut album »Far Away Is Right Around The Corner« and the second album »I Started Wearing Black«, released three years later, to grasp the level of artistic self-torture that Sonia Güttler imposes on herself in the studio.

The albums, both of which were released on Berlin label Monika Werkstatt, run by Gudrun Gut (Malaria!, Mania D, …) and hence part of a feminist-actionist community, bear witness to Güttler’s genesis. On »Far Away Is Right Around The Corner« she primarily interpreted ambient music as a comfortable sound carpet to take a seat on. With »I Started Wearing Black« she ventures into sound-aesthetical regions that are rather painful, demanding much more from the listener and herself. At some point between the two albums a desire for long club nights was awakened in her (reflected in her mixes for radio stations such as NTS Radio London or Dublab ever since). The listener can sense this desire in the album’s nuances, just as the traces of the delicate collaborations that have shaped and influenced her, such as the one with Danielle de Piciotto (with whom she recorded the album »Leise Fäden« in 2017) and various remix jobs (among others for AGF, Blint and Natalie TBA Beridze; most recently gathered on the compilation »Music For People Who Shave Their Heads«).


However, Sonia Güttler’s self-image as an artist does not end with her own productions and career ambitions. Born in Hamburg, she is a prime example of a socially committed artist. For several years now, for example, she has been a regular contributor to the Cologne On - Neue Musik e.V., an association dedicated to new music. It is a particularly important concern of hers to address the role of women in electronic music, partly in an act of enlightenment via lectures and concerts, partly as direct inspiration via workshops and personal contact.

The knowledge that Sonia Güttler knows how to contribute here is the result of her own artistic vita and shaped by a number of different influences: self-empowerment in the spirit of the do-it-yourself attitude; her studies at the Institute for Pop Music at the Folkwang University of the Arts, where she was taught by Hans Nieswandt, Gregor Schwellenbach and Tanja Godlewsky, among others; and through her involvement in the above mentioned community around her label Monika Enterprises, through which artistic exchange processes came about: with musicians such as AGF, Beate Bartel, Lucrecia Dalt, Danielle De Picciotto, Islaja, Barbara Morgenstern Nathalie Beridze and Pilocka Krach, the collective explored new sound paths together.

When questioned about the most important piece of advice she would give to young female musicians, she answers with a striking distillate of these strands:

»Art must always be the priority! Don’t let yourself be distracted by your daily routine too much to make music!«

In this sense, one can be very curious to see what Sonia Güttler will surprise herself and us with next.

 

Thomas Venker, September 2020

Read more

artists

Sonae | Sonia Güttler

Produzentin und DJ – NICA Artist seit 2020
Sonae by Katja Ruge

Sonae ist Produzentin, Live-Performerin und DJ der experimentellen elektronischen Musik; zudem ist sie Teil des Labels und Kollektivs Monika Werkstatt. Ihr Debütalbum erschien 2015 beim Berliner Label Monika Enterprise. Es folgte eine Künstlerresidenz im Klingklang Studio in Düsseldorf, das »Women in Computer Music«-Stipendium am CCRMA der Stanford Universität in Kalifornien und ein Masterabschluss in Populärer Musik an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen. 2018 wurde ihr zweites Album »I Started Wearing Black« veröffentlicht (»ein bemerkenswertes Album« - Fluid Radio UK), gefolgt von »Music For People Who Shave Their Heads« im Jahre 2019 auf dem Londoner Label Bit-Phalanx Music. Sie nahm außerdem DJ-Mixe für The Wire, Self-Titled, Vice und Dublab auf.

Sonae spielt live sowohl Solo-Shows als auch mit Monika Werkstatt auf Festivals und in Clubs wie dem Institut für Zukunft (Leipzig), dem Meakusma Festival (Eupen), Ausland (Berlin), dem Pop Kultur Festival (Berlin), dem Uh-Fest (Budapest), dem Cafe Oto (London), dem 23rpm Festival (London) und The Cube (Bristol) und anderen neben Künstler*innen wie Squarepusher (Warp), Kyoka (raster-noton) und Plaid (Warp). Sonae lebt und arbeitet in Köln.

 

»Merkt euch ihren Namen« - A Closer Listen

Wenn man Sonia Güttler dabei zu hört, wie sie über ihr Projekt Sonae spricht, dann lässt sich ihre Herkunft aus Deutschland nicht leugnen. Die Kölnerin benutzt beispielsweise das Wort Bestandsaufnahme, um das von ihr intensiv betriebene Hinterfragen von Einflussfaktoren ihrer Produktionsweise und Aspekte der Außenwirkung zu thematisieren. Das mag zunächst bürokratisch anmuten, jedoch steckt dahinter die hochemotionalisierte und energisch verfolgte künstlerische Ambition sich nicht zu wiederholen – denn das wäre Stagnation, der Feind aller Musiker*innen.

Doch keine Angst, man muss sich nur einmal anhören, wie viel sich zwischen dem 2015 erschienen Debut-Album »Far Away Is Right Around The Corner« und dem drei Jahre später heraus gekommenen zweiten Album »I Started Wearing Black« bei ihrem Projekt Sonae getan hat, um das Ausmaß der künstlerischen Selbstmarterung zu verstehen, die sich Sonia Güttler im Studio auferlegt.

Die Alben, die beide auf dem von Gudrun Gut (Malaria!, Mania D, …) betriebenen Berliner Label Monika Werkstatt erschienen sind und damit eingebettet in eine feministisch-aktionistisch definierte Gemeinschaft, zeugen von der Genese der Produzentin Güttler. Während sie auf »Far Away Is Right Around The Corner« primär Ambient Musik als Soundteppich zum sich fallenlassen und wohlfühlen auslegte, wagt sie sich mit »I Started Wearing Black« in soundästhetisch schmerzhaftere Regionen vor, verlangt Hörer*innen und sich selbst gleichermaßen deutlich mehr ab. Neben der irgendwann in den Jahren zwischen den Alben in ihr erweckten Sehnsucht nach langen Clubnächten (die sich auch in den Mixen für Radiosender wie NTS Radio London oder Dublab seitdem niederschlagen), spürt man in den Zwischentönen des Albums aber auch die Einflusslinien von feinfühligen Kollaborationen wie jener mit Danielle de Piciotto (mit der sie 2017 das Album »Leise Fäden« aufnahm) und diversen Remixaufträgen (u.a. für AGF, Blint und Natalie TBA Beridze; zuletzt auf der Compilation »Music For People Who Shave Their Heads« versammelt).

Sonia Güttlers Selbstverständnis als Künstlerin endet jedoch nicht bei ihren eigenen Produktionen und Karriereambitionen, die gebürtige Hamburgerin ist ein Paradebeispiel für eine sich sozial engagierende Künstlerin. So bringt sie sich seit einigen Jahren beispielsweise immer wieder beim Kölner On – Neue Musik e.V. ein, einem Verein, der sich Neuer Musik widmet. Ihr ist es ein besonders wichtiges Anliegen, die Rolle von Frauen in der Elektronischen Musik zu thematisieren, einerseits in einem Akt der Aufklärung via Vorträge und Konzerte, andererseits aber auch als direkte Inspiration via Workshops und persönliche Ansprache.

 Das Wissen, das Sonia Güttler hier einzubringen weiß, ist das Ergebnis ihrer eigenen künstlerischen Vita und geprägt von mehreren Einflusssträngen: der Selbstermächtigung im Geiste der Do-it-yourself-Haltung; ihrem Studium am Institut für Pop-Musik der Folkwang Universität der Künste, wo sie unter anderen bei Hans Nieswandt, Gregor Schwellenbach und Tanja Godlewsky in die künstlerische Lehre ging; und durch ihre Involvierung in die bereits angesprochene Community rund um ihr Label Monika Enterprises, durch das künstlerische Austauschprozesse mit Musikerinnen wie AGF, Beate Bartel, Lucrecia Dalt, Danielle De Picciotto, Islaja, Barbara Morgenstern Nathalie Beridze und Pilocka Krach zustande kamen, bei denen das Kollektiv gemeinsam neue Klangpfade erforschte. 

Fragt man Sonia Güttler nach ihrem wichtigsten Ratschlag an junge Musikerinnen, antwortet sie mit einem signifikanten Destillat dieser Stränge:

»Die Kunst muss immer Priorität haben! Man darf sich nicht vom Alltag davon abhalten lassen, Musik zu machen!«

In diesem Sinne, man darf sehr gespannt sein, mit was Sonia Güttler sich und uns als nächstes überrascht.

Mehr erfahren